Posts for Reviews Category

Review: 2020 Toyota Camry Ascent Sport Hybrid

Mike Boyd - April 3, 2020

Growing up, my Dad worked for a company specialising in agriculture. We spent many hours of our school holidays cris-crossing Western NSW visiting cousins and friends whilst Dad went about his business.

His company cars back then were always Fords. First a couple of Falcons, then a Fairmont, before a few Fairmont Ghias, then Fairlanes as he ascended the corporate ladder.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: ASUS ROG Phone II

Finley Green - April 1, 2020

Republic of Gamers, the makers that brought us the original gaming phone, have come out with the next level of efficient mobile gaming – the ROG Phone 2. While the original phone was an interesting game-changer, critics agreed that there were quite a few features that could be added or improved on to make the device soar. Now we finally have their answer in the form of this phone, with its intimidatingly large yet smooth design and powerful processor, this phone is poised to become the face of optimized gameplay outside of the world of consoles. This phone can appeal to everyone, especially acting as a dream scenario for little kids asking relatives if they have games on their phone. But for the seasoned gamer, this device offers plenty of options for app store fun without the lag, as long as you can get used to the size.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Hyundai IONIQ Premium

Mike Boyd - March 24, 2020

Within a couple of hours I was out of a Nissan Leaf and into the Hyundai IONIQ Premium. Back to back from one all-electric 5 door hatch-back into another. The perfect comparative environment.

My initial thinking was that these two EVs would be on the whole pretty much the same. They are both EVs, yes – however, the similarities for better and worse end there.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Nissan Leaf

Mike Boyd - March 16, 2020

I’ve always loved the 5-door hatch-back. Back in my youth, the Honda Civic was a favourite. My own car today is a Volkswagen Golf. A great combination of useable space, thrifty economics in terms of running costs, and occasionally a great drive when the moment and environment is right.

As a result I was very much looking forward to my first proper experience in an all-electric car that was also a 5-door hatch. And so my week with the Nissan Leaf began.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: Spenser Confidential – A Fun, Simple Romp Through An Action-Packed Mystery

Finley Green - March 6, 2020

If you’re the type to frequent bookstores, particularly within the mystery section, hearing the name of a detective named Spenser may ring a bell for you. Indeed, Robert B. Parker’s famed police investigator has been in the public’s eye for almost 40 years now, with his very first novel having been released back in 1973. Parker wrote a total of 40 Spenser novels up until his death in 2010, after which crime journalist and author Ace Atkins was selected to continue the Spenser saga, which is still ongoing as of 2020. There have been multiple adaptations of the series over the years, both on television and the big screen. Most recently, Netflix has given it a shot as well with the release of Spenser Confidential, an adaptation of Atkins’ second Spenser novel from 2013 entitled Wonderland. While I’ve never personally read these novels, they obviously hold a special place in the hearts of many readers both old and young, so it was interesting to see how this new film would hold up in front of both book fans and newcomers. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Kia Sorento GT-Line

Mike Boyd - March 5, 2020

I’m writing this review the very week that Holden is farewelling Australia after 164 years of operation.

From the very comfortable driver’s seat of the Kia Sorento GT-Line, I’m sorry to say that I am completely convinced that Holden’s demise was avoidable.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: Canon PowerShot G7X Mark III

Om Patel - March 3, 2020

These days, compact cameras have become fairly popular not only among photography enthusiasts, but also with the general users. While smartphones can do a good job in most situations, a real camera’s functions and controls can give superior images your phone will never manage to capture.

Canon’s PowerShot G7 X is easily one of the most attractive cameras for vlogging. Its excellent autofocus (AF) system, coupled with image stabilization, a 24-100mm f/1.8-2.8 lens, and handy flip screen are all useful features for creating digital content.

Its latest member, the G7 X Mark III, builds on the existing G7 X Mark II features, with a few significant tweaks and upgrades to take photography and videography to even greater heights. The camera records at full, uncropped 4K video and can finally plug in an external microphone with the 3.5mm mic port — something that Canon G7 X users have been wanting for a long time. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Exceed

Mike Boyd - February 28, 2020

I have to admit, I was perplexed in the lead-up to driving this week’s car and writing this review. The Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Exceed was the second PHEV vehicle I had driven in two weeks. Déjà vu was kicking in hard as I hopped into the very comfortable front seats of the Outlander. “Remain objective…” I kept telling myself.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: Yale Assure Lock SL

Om Patel - February 25, 2020

How many times have you forgotten your keys when you leave the house? Once, twice, or maybe just like we have, you’ve stopped counting. You get home after a long day at work, excited to jump into your bed, when you realize — your keys aren’t in your pocket. The answer? The Yale Assure Lock SL.

The Yale Assure Lock SL is the latest digital smart home security from the lock maker that has become a household name: Yale. For less than $300, you get a sleek, key-free touchscreen deadbolt that is compatible with your devices. This dependable hardware works with Apple HomeKit, Alexa and Google Assistant devices, which means you can access it virtually anywhere. With its minimalist design, connectivity, and ease of use, it’s the best smart lock out there.

You will never get locked out of your house ever again! Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Volvo XC60 T8 Polestar Engineered

Mike Boyd - February 17, 2020

There are no two ways about it, the EV (Electric Vehicle) has arrived and is here to stay. The PHEV (Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle) takes the concept of a ‘battery powered car’ to another level of practicality today. Amongst a number of manufacturers in the market right now, I think Volvo is right up there – getting the blend of today’s world and tomorrow’s world almost perfect.

I’ve been driving the Volvo XC60 T8 Polestar Engineered mid-sized SUV for the past week and I can’t write this with more enthusiasm – it’s fantastic!

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: Palm – Unlock the Power of Minimalism

Finley Green - February 14, 2020

We’ve finally entered the new decade of 2020, which means that the world has lived its first full decade of mass smartphone ownership. Despite their introduction into our daily lives having taken place not too long ago in the grand scheme of things, it’s hard to imagine a present timeline in which we don’t always carry tiny computers in our pockets. And with the technological boom that began years ago and continues to rapidly expand, we now have our pick of the litter when it comes to choosing what sort of smartphone we’d like. We can prioritize features and perks that are important to us and find a phone to meet our needs, whatever they may be. In the case of the Palm phone, you can enjoy a mini-smartphone with all of the capabilities of its larger counterparts. This selling feature has its positives and negatives, but depending on what you’re looking for, it may be the perfect mobile device for you. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Nissan Navara N-TREK

Mike Boyd - February 12, 2020

In 2019 the Light Commercial / Truck segment made up 114,428 units representing 21.2% of all cars sold in Australia.

That’s 13 new Light Trucks / Utes being delivered every hour – 24×7 – every day of the year!

When you look at what’s on offer in this segment, you can certainly see what the appeal is for literally tens of thousands of people. There is no shortage of models and options and some very good engineering.

The Nissan Navara N-TREK is no exception.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Lamborghini Huracán EVO

Mike Boyd - February 7, 2020

If Ferruccio Lamborghini was alive today he would be approaching his 104th birthday and would be witness to the consistent and healthy growth of the supercar brand that features his name and the symbol of his Taurus zodiac sign – the bull.

In the past 5 years Lamborghini sales globally have risen 153% and judging by the quality and variety of the range on display at their Sydney showroom, I see no reason why one of the world’s greatest supercar makers should not continue to prosper.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: ASUS ZenBook Pro Duo UX581

Bruce Green - January 31, 2020

Whenever a company decides to take on a new challenge and raise the stakes with a tech product, we expect lots of complaints and criticism from people because they will assume it’s a gimmick. However, this ASUS ZenBook Pro Duo Laptop is so beautiful and unique its hard to say anything bad about it. It will definitely make you stop in your tracks and take a closer look, not only due to it’s visual appeal but also the way it stands out from all other laptops.

As an introduction, lets break down the obvious. It has much more power than most people will ever need. It has two 4k resolution touchscreen surfaces to work on, living up to it’s name Duo. The main screen is a full 3840×2160 true 4K display that seems almost unreal to look at and the secondary screen is almost half the length size, coming in at 3840×1100. The lower visual panel spans the entire width of the laptop and includes wrist rests to give that extra support for long working or gaming use. This makes it perfect for any desk or table. Although it weighs 5 1/2 lbs. and feels a little bulkier, it has more working area then any other laptop available on the market at this time. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Suzuki Vitara

Mike Boyd - January 31, 2020

I have previously reviewed the Suzuki Vitara Turbo (2WD) and came away very impressed with its capabilities and standard features. This past week I have been driving what is essentially the same car with a slightly larger engine that also lacks a small turbo-charger, as well as some bells and whistles along the way.

What struck me was for the budget conscious, the base model Vitara is still a very well equipped small SUV that boasts all the important features and eschews any flimflam. With a saving of nearly $6,000 over the 2WD Turbo, this is a great car for those looking for the essentials in smart, safe and reliable packaging, and nothing more.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Ferrari Portofino

Mike Boyd - January 29, 2020

The WhatsApp message from the boss read: “How would you like to test a Ferrari Portofino for a couple of days in January?

He did not have to ask me twice.

I was a little nervous – I have to admit. I’ve driven some quick cars in my time however, the Prancing Horse was one I hadn’t yet ‘ticked off’. Some desk research was necessary, and the best preview of the Portofino I found was thanks to Tim Burton aka Shmee150.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 KIA Stinger 200S

Mike Boyd - January 27, 2020

The Stinger has been available in Australia for a number of years now and recently received a mid-life upgrade for the 2020 range. I have to admit I was very much looking forward to getting behind the wheel as Kia has endured quite the renaissance in recent years with wholesale styling and engineering changes across the entire range that now spans 10 product lines.

It was a very damp day in Sydney when I collected the Stinger 200S finished in Silky Silver and black leather interior. The 200S is the base model Stinger which for the uninitiated like me was not immediately obvious. My first impression driving the 200S was the feeling of being in a solid, very comfortable and safe large sedan that is akin to its well established European competition.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Avenue 5 Shines As A Dark Sci-Fi Comedy With A Stellar Cast

Finley Green - January 19, 2020

While many beloved sci-fi properties feature comedic elements in them, it’s a bit more rare to see one emerge as a full-fledged comedy television show. They can exist, but most of them do so in the form of adult animated shows or, arguably, some of the Marvel movies. On the other hand, you have your popular sitcoms like Brooklyn 99 or The Office, which set the bar for the genre in that they’re hilariously funny, but never usually venture into odd settings, preferring to take place in regular workplaces. Avenue 5 is looking to do something different. By mixing genres that are traditionally kept separate, especially in a live action medium, they take a risk but chase the promise of something new that may draw audiences in. The series shows potential to be a smart satire, already beginning to poke fun at certain modern character stereotypes in a wacky setting. With a wise-cracking cast and morbidly funny worldview, Avenue 5 is not always perfect, but still a promising start to a unique series that could spread its wings if given time and space to grow. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Suzuki Vitara Turbo (2WD)

Mike Boyd - January 17, 2020

The original Suzuki Vitara was launched in Australia in the late 1980s joining the very successful Suzuki Sierra (sold today as the Jimny). The Vitara was a more well equipped, sporty, and urban focussed version of the Sierra – which for over a decade was the cheap-and-cheerful go to for a small, reliable 4×4 for those that couldn’t afford or didn’t need something as robust as a Toyota LandCruiser or as utilitarian as the Subaru Brumby.

In the 1990s the Vitara buyer was very likely characterised by words like “active” and “sporty” and “adventurous”. It never tried to be anything it wasn’t and what it did well, it did very well.

Those of us that can remember the original Vitara or have seen them on the road, will be very glad to hear that the Suzuki Vitara of 2020 has grown up over the years and is now a very purposeful – and very capable – mid-sized SUV for those looking for a bit more of everything than you find in smaller SUVs or a small station wagon. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: DJI Mavic 2 Pro

Om Patel - January 5, 2020

It seems like everyone has a drone these days.

Years ago, flying a drone was as complicated as flying a small aircraft. Controls were complicated, took a whole lot of getting used to, and acquiring your personal drone was nearly impossible. But now? Drone fever is raging harder than ever before. Drones have entered the general consumer market, with aspiring ‘vloggers’ flying their drones everywhere in an attempt to create content.

In 2016, DJI released the game-changing Mavic Pro, which was marketed as a portable drone that was easy to fly, even amateurs could do it. It was fairly simple to operate, which turned it into an instant favorite.

Recently, the company returned with a new Mavic drone: the Mavic 2 Pro. This new model is meant to be as powerful as the original Mavic model, but with improved aerial cameras that real filmmakers currently use. It’s the perfect camera for travel photographers — small enough to be folded, yet powerful enough to capture high-resolution 4k video. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Sennheiser PXC 550-II Headphones Impress Audiophiles With Top-Notch Sound

Finley Green - January 1, 2020

Whether you prefer listening to music, podcasts, phone calls, YouTube, or anything else that can be accessed through our various personal devices, one thing is certain: quality headphones are a priority. Sure, you could buy some $20 flimsy headset at the mall and enjoy tinny audio that sounds like it’s passing through an empty sewer tunnel to get to you, but that can quickly lose its charm once you pass age 8 or so. For my real audio enthusiasts, true sound quality through top-of-the-line headphones is not simply enhancement, but essential. In this day and age, media can be enjoyed anywhere, but the phone and computer are two extremely popular mediums that practically require headphones. But what headphones really make the cut? After all, there’s thousands to choose from, all showcasing different perks and features that may seem overwhelming at first. Well, after being able to personally field test a pair of Sennheiser’s new PXC 550-II headphones, I can say that this pair is a real winner. Sennheiser has always been known for fantastic sound and noise cancellation with their wireless listening devices, and these headphones mark another success for the tech producer. Let’s inspect how all of 550-II’s features come together to create a pair of headphones that make listening to audio a full experience. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

2019 Christmas Gift Guide

Mike Boyd - December 19, 2019

Here at SonnyDickson.com we review hundreds of products throughout the year. As we approach Christmas here are our picks of the bunch for 2019.

Audio

AirPods Pro

Apple AirPods Pro

The benchmark in wireless in-ear headphones sits firmly with Apple and the new AirPods Pro. Super light-weight and with incredible sound dynamics, these will be the gift that keeps on giving for any audiophile in your life.

$249 from Apple Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Frozen II Embarks On A Breathtakingly Grand Journey, Despite Occasionally Getting Lost In The Woods

Finley Green - November 29, 2019

Frozen (2013) was a cultural phenomenon, there’s no doubt about that. You’d be hard-pressed to find someone that hasn’t at least heard a great deal about it, especially anyone with kids. Frozen can be easily argued as one of the Walt Disney Company’s biggest films of all time, making $1.2 billion at the box office and selling over $107 billion worth of merchandise. Given these monstrously gigantic figures, it doesn’t take a financial strategist to understand why Disney would want to make Frozen into a full franchise. And that leads us to the present, when, 6 years after the original release of Frozen, we received the long-anticipated Frozen II. This sequel has been hyped up beyond belief from announcement to final trailer, so it definitely had a lot to live up to. So on November 22, children and adults alike flocked to the movie theater in droves to watch the movie for themselves and see how it lived up to its predecessor. So far, both critics and casual viewers seem split on opinions of this goliath of a film, but it’s also smashed multiple box office records. So with all of these factors at play, let’s really take a deep look at whether this movie’s unique venture into the unknown makes it a worthy successor of the title “Disney’s Biggest Animated Film Of All Time.” Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: His Dark Materials Greets The Small Screen With Admirable Grace And Wonder

Finley Green - November 4, 2019

For years, the novels of Philip Pullman have been dazzling readers young and old alike, and the series His Dark Materials was perhaps the most famed of all. Previously, it’s been adapted into both a theater production and a film which was met with mixed reviews. Pullman’s readers have been vying for a way to bring their beloved series and all of its magic to life in a new way, and with the release of HBO’s His Dark Materials television adaptation of 2019, it seems that they may get their way. A brand new fantasy epic saga that feels inspired by the likes of the later Harry Potter films and similar fantasy titles that hold equal intrigue for older children and adults has just awoken and holds definite promise. Our friends over at HBO were able to secure a preview containing the first four episodes for us to review before wide release, and it is so far a very engaging watch. I personally have never read the books that the series is based on and so cannot say much in the area of adaptational accuracy, but that does allow me to approach it with fresh eyes, able to give a less biased look at how the show stands on its own merit. But to be fair, if the rest of the season is this interesting, I may have to pick up the books after all. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Bruce Green - November 1, 2019

Sound is one of five tenets of our sensory experience on this planet, so it makes sense to want to experience it luxuriously at times. This is understood especially when it comes to entertainment that you personally enjoy and wish to upgrade. Whether it be movies, music, sports, or other immersive media, we can find a new level of enjoyment when the presentation is enhanced, such as by improving the auditory experience. If you have any friends that are self-proclaimed audiophiles, it’s highly possible that you’ve heard talk of the newly released AMBEO Soundbar. You may ask, “What’s the deal with this apparently very special speaker? Can it really change my audio that drastically? How did I get so many friends that all share this extremely specific interest again?” Or if you are said audiophile, you may be interested in seeing whether or not this new device is worth the hefty price. Fret not, as whether you have no knowledge of audio tech or consider yourself a passionate fan of such things, together we can all examine what the AMBEO Soundbar does, how it compares to similar devices, and how it can affect your media consumption forever. As I was able to test out the speaker and use it in various different scenarios, I’ll be highlighting my personal experiences with the device and how it stacks up in the grand world of audio tech. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2019’s The Joker Boasts Awe-Inspiring Acting and Frighteningly Realistic Intensity

Finley Green - October 3, 2019

This review will contain mild spoilers for Joker.

The Joker is one of the most famous villains of all time, both in comic circles and entertainment as a whole. Over the years, we’ve seen plenty of distinct portrayals of the character that have all left a significant mark on his general perception. From Heath Ledger’s sinister unpredictable crime lord in 2008 to Mark Hamill’s insane larger-than-life cartoon villain in 1992 to Jared Leto’s unfortunate misstep in 2016, the Joker has become one of the most interesting characters in comics and cinema, and those are just some of the most well-known versions. As society goes on, new takes on this famous character will no doubt continue to be created, some good, some bad. In the case of Joker, the first stand-alone movie centered completely on the killer clown and his backstory, this version by Joaquin Phoenix will no doubt be remembered as exceptionally great. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Best iPhone 11 Cases

Ricardo Pirroni - October 1, 2019

That iPhone is a is a thing of beauty, it would be a shame if something happened to it!

No, that isn’t a threat but a sad reality. Jamming your phone in your pocket with keys or having it spring out of your grip when the barista calls your name when your double mint chocolate soy latte is ready is no laughing matter. But have no fear we have you and your iPhone 11 covered.

Here are some of our favorite case options.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Bose Frames

Mohammed Rayan - September 9, 2019

Since the dawn of wearable technology, we have seen a variety of smart wearable devices but none of them have been extraordinary. Sure, we have seen things like the Bose Soundwear Companion Speaker, but that doesn’t qualify as a wearable as the consensus for a wearable device is something that you carry anywhere without getting a weird look from people around you.

With the Bose Frames, that’s set to change. These new wearables from Bose are bluetooth- enabled sunglasses with speakers and a mic integrated in them, allowing you to listen to music or take calls without taking your phone out of your pocket. This is definitely a step up from the Snapchat Spectacles we saw last year. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Succession Season 2 Shows A Promising Start With More Drama To Come

Finley Green - September 8, 2019

If the performance at the Emmy’s is anything to go off of, it appears that Succession has enraptured both audiences and critics across the world as of late. While only in its second season, Succession has rapidly gained attention since its June 2018 premiere. Fans of the HBO series can’t seem to get enough of this dramatic look into the lives of a scheming family running a monopolistic media empire. There is a certain morbid fascination with this family that sees each other as little more than a means to an end, with all parties understanding that power will trump familial loyalty every time in this corporate world. The old patriarch of this establishment is Logan Roy (Brian Cox), a formidable tyrant who plays mind games and spins webs of deceit and blackmail to get what he wants and keep his huge company afloat.

With season two, we pick up less than two days after the end of season one, seeing how one of Logan’s sons, Kendall (Jeremy Strong), is getting along after his attempted business betrayal against his father and major drug relapse. From the get-go, Kendall seems much more timid and submissive after being unable to seize his own power and only digging himself into a deeper hole, and his speech and mannerisms clearly reflect his new role. The writing and acting for this season is top notch, absolutely no one is slacking in these respects. Logan, still deciding where to take his shaken company and who of his children and immediate family to trust with corporate power, gives an amazing performance, both in subdued moments and over-the-top blowouts. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: ASUS F1 LED Projector

Om Patel - September 5, 2019

The ASUS F1 LED Projector is the projector you need for the ultimate, immersive entertainment experience. It’s the projector that’s perfect for gamers and movie buffs. You might be thinking, “But it’s a projector… aren’t those little contraptions for the office only?” Well, not anymore! This projector is an excellent pick because of its compact size, making it easy for you to set it up in your own backyard. The ASUS F1 LED Projector boasts full HD resolution, with a short throw lens, automatic focus adjustment, and 120 Hz refresh rate when set to a resolution of 720p. It’s the go-to, lightweight projector that can make your Netflix and Chill nights a lot more interesting, and your gaming sessions a lot more fun. Read on to see what we think about the ASUS F1 LED Projector:

The ASUS F1 is listed at $899, which is a bit on the pricier end of Full HD projectors. Sure, you can get other projectors for around $200, but for splurging a bit more with the ASUS F1, you can get brighter HD images for the luxury of having the ultimate home theatre experience. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: DJI Osmo Action

Connor Ray - August 30, 2019

DJI, the company behind some of the worlds best drones and gimbals are back with something new, the DJI Osmo Action, an all-in action cam for life’s most extreme thrill-seekers. With the Osmo Action, DJI is taking the GoPro Hero 7 Black, GoPro’s best offering, head-on with like for like features, specs, design and build quality. But what makes the Osmo Action unique compared to the Hero 7 Black is the inclusion of a secondary front-facing LCD display as well the regular backside display and a significantly lower price for an overall strong competitor to the Hero 7. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Once Upon a Time in Hollywood: Dull Misstep or Intriguing Triumph?

Finley Green - August 15, 2019

This review will contain spoilers.

August 2019 marked the return of (in)famous director Quentin Tarantino to direct a brand new movie in his signature style, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. The genuine buzz and curiosity surrounding this movie from the get-go never seemed to truly ebb from the moment that the first trailer dropped. Whether in excitement or dread, everyone was anticipating going to see this movie, with its uniquely tangible 60’s setting and immensely popular cast that seemed to grab the attention of both the film buffs and the average moviegoers. And so, the crowds came in droves to see the film, and a little over two hours later, the world stepped out of the theater feeling extremely conflicted. Immediately and without hesitating to make their passionate opinions known, some jumped to claimed it was a fantastic cinematic masterpiece, others strongly refuted by calling it a dull failure, and still others felt unsure what to even make of the film, including myself initially. It was certainly a very different film, as Tarantino himself is known for, a film where the viewer’s personal perceptions of the more ambiguous events will have a large bearing on how they view the film as a whole. There’s also the notorious final 20-30 minutes that turn the film on its head and was met with even more polarized reactions from viewers. But before this can be discussed, it’s imperative to discuss the buildup and ultimate payoff that made Once Upon a Time in Hollywood a fairy tale worth looking at. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Anker Nebula Capsule – A Pint-Sized Pocket Projector That Packs a Punch!

J.Glenn Künzler - August 14, 2019

Portable, nano, or pico projectors have been a rising trend in consumer tech goods over the recent years, and they can be useful in all types of situations – sharing a business PowerPoint on the fly, watching a movie in a remote location where your normal streaming box or TV can’t follow, and so forth. However, the main thing that has kept me from jumping on board is that they tend to lack versatility for streaming your personal media or accessing your favorite streaming services.

Anker, makers of the Nebula line of projectors, have attempted to address this with a very modern portable projector roughly the size of a can of Coca-Cola – with support for all of your favorite streaming services included.

We’ll be taking a look at Anker’s original entry into the field of portable entertainment projectors – the Capsule.
Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: Oculus Quest All-in-one VR Gaming Headset

Om Patel - August 1, 2019

The Oculus Quest has arrived and it’s making its grand entrance. The Quest is a follow-up to the equally successful Oculus Go, but this time, Oculus has developed and improved based on real comments from users. If you didn’t like the Oculus Go because of its limited movement, you’ll be more than happy with the Oculus Quest. It’s wireless, easy to set up and use for first-time VR users.

Facebook’s first all-in-one gaming headset is reinventing what you know about virtual reality. With a Snapdragon processor built into its headset, the Oculus Quest gives you a gaming experience that’s close to the PC level. It comes with two Oculus Touch controllers and offers total room-scale VR without any base station.

The headset uses Oculus Insight, making use of four sensors at the front to track your movements in the real world. Play without worrying about tripping — the Oculus Quest wants you to play freely, which is why it was designed to be wireless. Now, you can enjoy hours of uninterrupted game time pretending to dodge bullets and jump over barricades.

Starting at $399, the Oculus Quest offers 64 GB of storage, complete with two Touch controllers, AA Batteries, power adapter, eyeglass spacer, and charging cable. There’s a 128GB version available at $499 – a pretty large leap in terms of the price difference, but if you’re a heavy user, it is worth the price since you can’t expand the storage.

Most Oculus Quest games are less than 3 GB in size, anyway, so if you don’t plan to be a professional gamer and just want a VR headset for Beat Saber sessions, we think going for the smaller option is fine. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: DJI Osmo Pocket

Om Patel - July 31, 2019

These days, almost anyone can become a vlogger. YouTube has taken the internet by storm and the term vlogging isn’t a new concept anymore. Self-made vloggers like Casey Neistat and Logan Paul have created digital communities where they show off their everyday lives — the plus side? They get paid to do it. From long distance couples to families with a dozen kids, there are a million things one could vlog about. With that competition, more and more people are swapping their smartphones for DSLRs in the pursuit of quality content.

DJI has revolutionized the world of vlogging with the DJI Osmo. It has made vlogging a hundred times easier, without having to compensate for any of the DSLR’s most beloved features. It offers superb stabilization while fitting inside your pocket. The DJI Osmo is the tiny, portable vlogging companion that anyone who wants to make it big on YouTube should use. Now, you don’t have to feel embarrassed of having to vlog at a restaurant. No more unnecessary arm workouts because of your huge DSLR complete with an external microphone and other bulky camera gear. The DJI Osmo gives you full 4K video and convenience in such a tiny package.

Want to improve your content? Get a DJI Osmo Pocket. It’s the DJI Osmo product that we recommend for “typical” vloggers. It’s easy to use, pocket-friendly and affordable. Continue Reading

Continue Reading