Posts for Cars Category

Review: 2020 Toyota Camry Ascent Sport Hybrid

Mike Boyd - April 3, 2020

Growing up, my Dad worked for a company specialising in agriculture. We spent many hours of our school holidays cris-crossing Western NSW visiting cousins and friends whilst Dad went about his business.

His company cars back then were always Fords. First a couple of Falcons, then a Fairmont, before a few Fairmont Ghias, then Fairlanes as he ascended the corporate ladder.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Hyundai IONIQ Premium

Mike Boyd - March 24, 2020

Within a couple of hours I was out of a Nissan Leaf and into the Hyundai IONIQ Premium. Back to back from one all-electric 5 door hatch-back into another. The perfect comparative environment.

My initial thinking was that these two EVs would be on the whole pretty much the same. They are both EVs, yes – however, the similarities for better and worse end there.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Nissan Leaf

Mike Boyd - March 16, 2020

I’ve always loved the 5-door hatch-back. Back in my youth, the Honda Civic was a favourite. My own car today is a Volkswagen Golf. A great combination of useable space, thrifty economics in terms of running costs, and occasionally a great drive when the moment and environment is right.

As a result I was very much looking forward to my first proper experience in an all-electric car that was also a 5-door hatch. And so my week with the Nissan Leaf began.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Kia Sorento GT-Line

Mike Boyd - March 5, 2020

I’m writing this review the very week that Holden is farewelling Australia after 164 years of operation.

From the very comfortable driver’s seat of the Kia Sorento GT-Line, I’m sorry to say that I am completely convinced that Holden’s demise was avoidable.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Exceed

Mike Boyd - February 28, 2020

I have to admit, I was perplexed in the lead-up to driving this week’s car and writing this review. The Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Exceed was the second PHEV vehicle I had driven in two weeks. Déjà vu was kicking in hard as I hopped into the very comfortable front seats of the Outlander. “Remain objective…” I kept telling myself.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Volvo XC60 T8 Polestar Engineered

Mike Boyd - February 17, 2020

There are no two ways about it, the EV (Electric Vehicle) has arrived and is here to stay. The PHEV (Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle) takes the concept of a ‘battery powered car’ to another level of practicality today. Amongst a number of manufacturers in the market right now, I think Volvo is right up there – getting the blend of today’s world and tomorrow’s world almost perfect.

I’ve been driving the Volvo XC60 T8 Polestar Engineered mid-sized SUV for the past week and I can’t write this with more enthusiasm – it’s fantastic!

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Nissan Navara N-TREK

Mike Boyd - February 12, 2020

In 2019 the Light Commercial / Truck segment made up 114,428 units representing 21.2% of all cars sold in Australia.

That’s 13 new Light Trucks / Utes being delivered every hour – 24×7 – every day of the year!

When you look at what’s on offer in this segment, you can certainly see what the appeal is for literally tens of thousands of people. There is no shortage of models and options and some very good engineering.

The Nissan Navara N-TREK is no exception.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Lamborghini Huracán EVO

Mike Boyd - February 7, 2020

If Ferruccio Lamborghini was alive today he would be approaching his 104th birthday and would be witness to the consistent and healthy growth of the supercar brand that features his name and the symbol of his Taurus zodiac sign – the bull.

In the past 5 years Lamborghini sales globally have risen 153% and judging by the quality and variety of the range on display at their Sydney showroom, I see no reason why one of the world’s greatest supercar makers should not continue to prosper.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Suzuki Vitara

Mike Boyd - January 31, 2020

I have previously reviewed the Suzuki Vitara Turbo (2WD) and came away very impressed with its capabilities and standard features. This past week I have been driving what is essentially the same car with a slightly larger engine that also lacks a small turbo-charger, as well as some bells and whistles along the way.

What struck me was for the budget conscious, the base model Vitara is still a very well equipped small SUV that boasts all the important features and eschews any flimflam. With a saving of nearly $6,000 over the 2WD Turbo, this is a great car for those looking for the essentials in smart, safe and reliable packaging, and nothing more.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Ferrari Portofino

Mike Boyd - January 29, 2020

The WhatsApp message from the boss read: “How would you like to test a Ferrari Portofino for a couple of days in January?

He did not have to ask me twice.

I was a little nervous – I have to admit. I’ve driven some quick cars in my time however, the Prancing Horse was one I hadn’t yet ‘ticked off’. Some desk research was necessary, and the best preview of the Portofino I found was thanks to Tim Burton aka Shmee150.

Continue Reading
Continue Reading

Review: 2020 KIA Stinger 200S

Mike Boyd - January 27, 2020

The Stinger has been available in Australia for a number of years now and recently received a mid-life upgrade for the 2020 range. I have to admit I was very much looking forward to getting behind the wheel as Kia has endured quite the renaissance in recent years with wholesale styling and engineering changes across the entire range that now spans 10 product lines.

It was a very damp day in Sydney when I collected the Stinger 200S finished in Silky Silver and black leather interior. The 200S is the base model Stinger which for the uninitiated like me was not immediately obvious. My first impression driving the 200S was the feeling of being in a solid, very comfortable and safe large sedan that is akin to its well established European competition.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2020 Suzuki Vitara Turbo (2WD)

Mike Boyd - January 17, 2020

The original Suzuki Vitara was launched in Australia in the late 1980s joining the very successful Suzuki Sierra (sold today as the Jimny). The Vitara was a more well equipped, sporty, and urban focussed version of the Sierra – which for over a decade was the cheap-and-cheerful go to for a small, reliable 4×4 for those that couldn’t afford or didn’t need something as robust as a Toyota LandCruiser or as utilitarian as the Subaru Brumby.

In the 1990s the Vitara buyer was very likely characterised by words like “active” and “sporty” and “adventurous”. It never tried to be anything it wasn’t and what it did well, it did very well.

Those of us that can remember the original Vitara or have seen them on the road, will be very glad to hear that the Suzuki Vitara of 2020 has grown up over the years and is now a very purposeful – and very capable – mid-sized SUV for those looking for a bit more of everything than you find in smaller SUVs or a small station wagon. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2015 Volvo XC90

Aatish Patel - February 21, 2016

Volvo makes luxury cars. Awkward to see in writing, I know. But one of Volvo’s latest offerings redefines what it means to have that Volvo logo, up front on the grille. Volvo’s new XC90 is the company’s second-generation luxury SUV. The new XC90 runs on Volvo’s Scalable Product Architecture which is a modular chassis developed by the company. The XC90 contains the very best of what Volvo has to offer in terms of performance, styling, safety, and tech.

image124100_b

Let’s start off with performance. The XC90 is no slouch for an SUV, delivering 316 horsepower from its supercharged, and yes, also turbocharged 2 liter engine coupled with an eight-speed automatic transmission. With the power you can feel inside the SUV, the XC90 would definitely not lead you to believe it had a 2 liter engine underneath as Volvo managed to eek out maximum performance from this highly-tuned piece of machinery. A truly remarkable feat that can only really be enjoyed inside the cabin. The ride you get with the XC90 is quite configurable, with adjusting the steering as easily available as adjusting the seats. This demonstrates the fun, playful side of the XC90, as well as the performance seeking “naughty”, other side. Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2015 Ford Mondeo

Jacob Zacks - August 12, 2015

The Ford Mondeo has certainly taken a long time to be released to the public. It was first previewed back in late 2012 to be released soon after, but due to several delays, it actually took until the 2014 model year to be released in the European markets. So, how does the 2015 Ford Mondeo stack up to it’s other mid-size competitors, and was the long delay worth it?

The Ford Mondeo has matured a lot since the previous generation. The exterior and interior design has been completely revised compared to the older Mondeo, and for the most part, these are really welcome improvements. The Mondeo is, for the most part, almost indistinguishable from the 2012 United States Ford Fusion, which could be a good or a bad thing depending on ones taste. Like most of Fords lineup, the Mondeo shares elements with other Fords, like the Focus. The front looks aggressive and sporty, and looks surprisingly similar to that on an Aston Martin. This gives the Mondeo the look of a much higher class of car. The back of the car looks a lot like the previous generation Mondeo, but more refined and less bulbous. The shape of the car is a lot more aerodynamic and is following its German competitors by looking more like a 4 door coupé than a sedan. This styling, combined with additional underbody panels and active grille shutters, contribute to a 10% drag reduction, which not only helps improve fuel economy, but also reduces interior noise.

Continue Reading

Continue Reading

Review: 2015 Volvo S60 Polestar

Aatish Patel - March 29, 2015

For my first car review, I thought it would be cool to try and dispel some old stigmas associated with car brands. In this case, Volvo. You see, in the past the word Volvo was always associated with the color beige, and taxes. It really didn’t make my heartbeat faster, or my pants any tighter that say an Audi, Benz, or Bimmer did. Volvo’s never really did anything for me, because I always felt that they were boring cars; not something that a young, lofty kid like me would ever be associated with.

The S60 Polestar is Volvo’s (mighty) attempt at a stylish, sport sedan that can take on the Germans head on; specifically the Audi S4, Mercedes C400 and BMW 335i. With it’s edgy, rebel blue paint job, oversized sport rims, and plethora of Polestar badges and logos, this hot Swede sure looks the part. This is certainly a Volvo that WILL NOT put you to sleep by its sight. It’s a proper, sport sedan without all of the “fluff” that we’ve become so accustomed to. There is a rear diffuser, 2 exhaust outlets, and a front splitter that actually do something! In the case of the front lip, it provides added down force to front, which assists in high-speed maneuvering. In no way does the exterior interject the performance that this car packs, but that doesn’t mean it’s boring. It’s a perfectly executed sleeper. Continue Reading

Continue Reading